Celebrating First Responders & Frontliners

Celebrating First Responders & Frontliners

Nominations are being sought for Celebrating First Responders & Frontliners, a program launched by the City of Albany’s three Business Improvement Districts: Central Avenue, Downtown Albany, and Lark Street (BID), to thank the first responders and frontline workers whose dedication through the COVID-19 pandemic keeps the community safe, mobile, and fed.

Each day in May, one of the BIDs will select one hero at random to receive a $50 gift certificate to a restaurant, retailer, or retail-related business within their District. All nominees submitted through May 31, 2020 will also be entered into a drawing to win one of the $200 Gift Card Prize Packs each BID has provided; winners will be chosen and announced the week of June 1, 2020.

We encourage you to nominate your first responder or frontline worker – doctors, nurses, EMTs, fire fighters, police, transportation workers, pharmacists, grocery store workers, to name a few, by submitting a photo and brief description of them through the Downtown Albany BID’s Facebook page or by emailing info@downtownalbany.org.  All entries subject to verification.

View Facebook album of all honorees here.


Christina Hess Al-Junaid
Nominated by: Alyssa Lotmore

Angel Soto
Nominated by: Addy Waldie

John LaFountain
Nominated by: Nicole Donato LaFountain

Donna Bundi-Fetter
Nominated by: Suzanne O'Connor

Jenny Benaquisto
Nominated by: Anne M. Pierce

Federico and Marie Larrinaga
Nominated by: Thomas Whalen

Lisa Corona
Nominated by: Nicole Smith

Rochel DeSilva
Nominated by: Riley Ackley

Joe Martin
Nominated by: Jennifer Roberts

Gabrielle Del Bene
Nominated by: Briana Del Bene

Christina Hobbins
Nominated by: Jennifer Roberts

Maura Tuffey
Nominated by: Jacqueline Murphy

Honoree: Ericka Lackey
Nominated by: Jennifer Roberts​

Honoree: Jennifer Roberts
Nominated by: Christina Hobbin​s

Honoree: Jason Doolittle
Nominated by: Suzanne Oliver​

Honoree: Raina Foland
Nominated by: Jennifer Roberts​

Honoree: Amanda Strock
Nominated by: Christina Hobbin​s